Thursday, September 28, 2023
General news

Nominations for the National Film & TV Awards (NFTA) 2018 announced


The prestigious NFTA is an annual awards ceremony celebrating the achievement of established and independent filmmakers, actors, actresses, casting directors, production companies and crew who make up the motion picture industry.

Larry King and Denzel Washington
to be celebrated with coveted Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Los Angeles, California: 8/10/18 National Film Academy brings its flagship UK award ceremony, National Film Awards to North America. The National Film Awards is a UK awards ceremony taking place annually held by the National Film Academy. Now in its 5th year, the National Film Academy today announced that it will be launching a US version of the awards on the 5th December 2018. One of the most exciting additions to the annual US version of the NFA will be the addition of television-specific categories. The National Film and Television Awards will be held annually in the month of December in the US to celebrate all the successful film releases and established, emerging, breakthrough performances and filmmakers in motion picture and television. Nominations for all categories will be open for academy members and film/television fans to both nominate and vote each year. Voting for this year’s awards ceremony goes live on the official NFTA website on the 8th of October 2018.

The nominations announced by the academy feature some of the most successful releases from 2018. The Best Feature category sees Black Panther, Den of Thieves, Ocean’s 8, Mission: Impossible – Fallout, The Equalizer 2 and Crazy Rich Asians go head to head for the coveted award. Whilst the Best TV Series category see Power, Empire, Atlanta, Black-ish, Stranger Things, Black Mirror, Insecure and Insatiable shortlisted.

Katherine Langford (13 Reasons Why) , Yara Shahidi (Black’ish), Finn Wolfhard (Stranger Things)
Letitia Wright (Black Panther) , Iain Armitage (Big Little Lies), Auli’i Cravalho (Moana)
Timothée Chalamet (LadyBird) and Millie Bobby Brown (Stranger Things)
will battle it out for the Best Newcomer category.

Public Voting for the NFTA’s commences online on the 8th of October till the 20th of November with the winners in all categories announced at the prestigious awards ceremony on the 5th of December 2018 at the Globe Theatre, in Los Angeles.

Legendary Television broadcaster, Larry King is being honoured with an Outstanding Contribution to TV Award whilst fellow Actor and pioneer, Denzel Washington is set to recieve an Outstanding Contribution to Motion Picture Award.

Find below the full list of nominees for the National Film & TV Awards:

Best Actor 2018
Donald Glover ( Atlanta)
Anthony Anderson (Black-ish)
Ted Danson (The Good Place)
Larry David (Curb Your Enthusiasm)
William H. Macy (Shameless)
Antonio Banderas (Genius: Picasso)
Michael B Jordan (Black Panther)
Kevin Hart (Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle)
Benedict Cumberbatch (Patrick Melrose)
Chadwick Boseman (Black Panther)
Gerard Butler (Den of Thieves)
John Legend (Jesus Christ Superstar)

Best Actor (TV Series)
Tom Ellis (Lucifer)
LL Cool J (NCIS: Los Angeles)
Shemar Moore (S.W.A.T)
Cedric the Entertainer (The Neighbourhood)
Omari Hardwick (Power)
Jeff Garlin (Curb Your Enthusiasm)
James Marsden (Westworld)
Rhenzy Feliz (Runaways)

Best Actress 2018 sponsored by DM Jewlry
Jada Pinkett Smith (Girls Trip)
Jessica Biel (The Sinner)
Laura Dern (The Tale)
Regina King (Seven Seconds)
Tiffany Haddish (Night School)
Regina Hall (Support The Girls)
Millie Bobby Brown (Stranger Things)
Lupita Nyong’o ( Black Panther)
Blake Lively ( A Simple Favor)
Sandra Bullock (Ocean’s 8)
Jennifer Lawrence (Red Sparrow)

Best Actress (TV Series) sponsored by SweetLeaf
Ariel Winter (Modern Family)
Hannah Simone (New Girl)
Drew Barrymore (Santa Clara Diet)
Gillian Jacobs (Love)
Mandy Moore (This Is Us)
Justina Machado (One Day At A Time)
Rachel Bilson (Take Two)
Lela Loren (Power)
Kaley Cuoco (The Big Bang Theory)

Best TV Series
Stranger Things
Black Mirror

Best Producer
Jordan Peele (Blackkklansman)
Oren Aviv (Den of Thieves)
Kenny Smith Jr. (Black-ish)
Nina Jacobson (Crazy Rich Asians)
Judy Craymer (Mama Mia 2)
Chris Bender (Under the Silver Lake)
Charlie Brooker (Black Mirror)

Best Comedy
Girls Trip
Night School
Life of the Party
The Spy Who Dumped Me
Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again
Crazy Rich Asians

Best Thriller
A Quiet Place
Red Sparrow
First Reformed
Madeline’s Madeline

Best Action
Black Panther
Mission Impossible – Fallout
Den of Thieves
The Equalizer 2
The Commuter
Red Sparrow

Best Independent Film
Support The Girls
Sorry to Bother You
Eighth Grade
You Where Never Really Here
The Tale
Honor Up
Leave No Trace
Under the Silver Lake

Best Talent Show
The Four
America’s Got Talent
So You Think You Can Dance
Showtime at the Apollo
World of Dance
Little Big Shots
American Idol

Best Documentary
G Funk
Diddy: Can’t Stop, Won’t Stop: A Bad Boy Story
The Defiant Ones
Road Movie
Three Identical Strangers
Minding the Gap
24 Frames

Best Feature Film
Black Panther
Den of Thieves
Ocean’s 8
Mission: Impossible – Fallout
The Equalizer 2
Crazy Rich Asians

Best Newcomer
Katherine Langford (13 Reasons Why)
Yara Shahidi (Black’ish)
Finn Wolfhard (Stranger Things)
Letitia Wright (Black Panther)
Iain Armitage (Big Little Lies)
Auli’i Cravalho (Moana)
Millie Bobby Brown (Stranger Things)

Best Short Film
Beneath the Ink
The Driver is Red
Stealing Silver
Baby Steps
Five Dollars

Best Director
Jon M. Chu (Crazy Rich Asians)
Spike Lee (Blakkklansman)
Debra Granik (Leave No Trace)
Christian Gudegast (Den of Thieves)
Carlos Lopez Estrada (Blindspotting)
Aneesh Chaganty (Searching)
Debra Granik (Leave No Trace)

Best Breakthrough Performance
Kendrick Lamar (Power)
Chadwick Boseman (Black Panther)
Millie Bobby Brown (Stranger Things)
Noah Schnapp (Stranger Things)
Talitha Bateman ( Annabelle: Creation)
Emily Blunt (A Quiet Place)
Cristin Milioti (Black Mirror)
Issa Rae (Insecure)
Rihanna (Ocean’s 8)

Best Reality TV Show
Shark Tank
Amazing Race
Top Chef
The Voice
The Four: Battle for Stardom
The Real Housewives of Beverley Hills
Love and Hip-Hop Hollywood
The Kardashians
Vanderpump Rules

Best Talk Show
The Late Late Show with James Corden
The Daily Show with Trevor Noah
Jimmy Kimmel Live
The Talk
Drink Champs (Nore, DJ Efn)
The Ellen Degeneres Show
Larry King Now
Full Frontal with Samantha Bee
The Breakfast Club
The View
Saturday Night Live
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert
Red Table Talk

Best Entertainment Show
The Four: Battle for Stardom
Nick Cannon Presents: Wild’N Out
Saturday Night Live
Red Table Talk
Beat Shazam
Showtime at the Apollo
Saturday Night Live
World of Dance
American Idol
The Breakfast Club
America’s Got Talent

Best Reality TV Judge
DJ Khaled (The Four)
Mark Cuban (Shark Tank)
Diddy (The Four)
Kevin O’Leary (Shark Tank)
Barbara Corcoran (Shark Tank)
Daymond John (Shark Tank)
Robert Herjavec (Shark Tank)
Lori Greiner (Shark Tank)
Lionel Ritchie (American Idol)
Mel B (America’s Got Talent)

Best TV Presenter
Mark Wright
Nick Cannon
Jamie Foxx
Steve Harvey
Wendy Williams
Ryan Seacrest
Terrence Jenkins

Outstanding Contribution to Television
Larry King

Outstanding Contribution to Motion Picture
Denzel Washington

Leave a Response